top of page

Time to Be Specific

Forthcoming week is here, and the festivities have begun. Over the course of the week, I was able to complete my resume for the interviews I will be going on to talk to cardiothoracic surgeons. I made sure to include my experiences from ISM 1 when I studied cardiology under the mentorship of Dr. Leena Sharan. This resume is going to by base template for submitting my accomplishments to college. I simply need to add a couple of things for my college resume, and I can submit this to my teachers for letter of recommendations.

Also, for my research, I was able to study a specific procedure, bypass surgery, which is a quite common procedure performed by cardiothoracic surgeons. I chose to study this procedure in particular because this was performed on my grandfather a while back. I remember my father explaining to me about how my grandfather needed veins removed from some of his limbs, such as his arm and leg. The surgery creates a graft of the veins and is placed in the heart. The reason for this bypass surgery is that fat tissue or plaque gets stuck in the blood vessels hindering the blood flow. Therefore, eating fatty foods is the culprit to having this surgery. Fatty foods, however, is an important part of everyday life for common American people, causing there to be an increase in obesity. All in all, maintaining good health by eating less fatty foods and exercising is vital to not get surgery. Before reading this article about the bypass surgery, I knew generally about the effects of eating unhealthy foods; however, now I understand the seriousness of the issue, and I hope to communicate to more people of the importance of eating well.

Overall, from my experiences this week, I was able to gather more information about the causes and effects of bypass surgery, including how obesity or eating healthy foods truly affects the wellbeing of the body. In addition, I was able to condense my thoughts for my resume to present my experiences and value to my potential interviewees. For next week, I will be finalizing my resume and researching more about the specifics of cardiothoracic surgery. Moreover, my goal for the next week is to call professionals to set up my first interviews for the year.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page