top of page

Time to Feel Better

Over this week, I was able to watch my third heart surgery in ISM, and it was so great to observe the heart being rewired right in front of my eyes. This was the highlight of my week because the rest of the week was focused on recovering from my sickness. In addition, I learned more about echocardiograms and the basics of how to read them. Therefore, this week was more laid back than most to feel better and push through to the end of the year. At my mentor visit this week, I watched another Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery x 3, which basically means that there were three blockages in the patient’s heart that needed to be fixed. It was so intriguing as ever to watch the chest being opened to see the ribs, lungs, and heart firsthand. I was able to converse with the nurses, PA’s, anesthesiologist, and of course my mentor throughout the operation. This mentor visit was a great way to update my mentor of what is going on with my product and remind her of my mentor evaluation. On my own time, I was able to do some research over echocardiograms, but what I did differently is I utilized the notes that I had from my mentor visits last year when studying cardiology to learn about it. My next steps for the week is to meet with the professionals for my final product and complete some FPN duties, like looking over my invitation.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page