top of page

Time to Get Moving

Week two of being a senior is over, which means it is getting closer and closer to the end of high school. Over the course of the week, ISM students have been preparing for the introductory speeches, the first part of the twenty-five minute Final Presentation Night speech. This part sets the tone of the speech about me and my topic. For this presentation, I decided to intertwine my experience from last year and connect it to my initiative this year to showcase my journey thus far and what goals I have.

To start off preparing for this speech, I created an outline, practiced it a bunch of times, began to feel comfortable with it, and displayed my speech to a group of people to practice. This is the environment I was to give my speech too; however, I somehow lost track of everything I had to say for the time it actually counted. Not to be a downer but my speech was nowhere near to the level I practiced it. After this happened, it was not that I was sad or angry, I was simply disappointed that I actually tried very hard and could not reach my expectations. When I got the chance to look back on that moment, I realized that I needed to stop being so hard on myself. From high school, it is normal to have stress and blow the simplest things out of proportion. Therefore, I must learn to regulate my overanalyzing qualities and maintain the idea that “the unexpected can change my life”, from this year’s guiding quote.

All in all, I have decided to move on and focus on bettering myself from setbacks, allowing more time for my personal growth. I am grateful for the three day weekend that provided me with a lot of relaxation, but it’s time to get moving.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page