top of page

Time to Stop Messing Around

Over the course of this week, I was able to complete career research regarding specifically what cardiothoracic surgeons do. Basically what I got away from the reading was that I needed to study more conditions and organs to be well versed in what cardiothoracic surgery can offer me versus cardiology. For example, with cardiothoracic surgery, surgeons not only specialize in organs such as the heart but also the lungs, esophagus, and more. This just illuminates all the more work I will be doing this year to learn more about my topic.

Shifting gears a little bit, college application due dates are along the corner, so allotting time for the completion for such milestones is getting smaller and harder as the year is going by. Therefore, I have goals for myself that will hopefully push me to stay on track with my goals. This practice will help my academically and provide me with the support to pursue my dreams in medicine. I am going to plan out my schedule for the day to make time for myself to succeed. I already do this with a planner, but sticking to it and simply getting the job done has been a struggle due to distractions with short time work. Thus, I am setting a goal for myself to put my future first and not allow for any distractions (TV, youtube, or any distractive activity) stop me from my future. Applying to college is the first step to my truly ambitious dreams, so I cannot and will not be doing anything unproductive until I have a plan for my future.

In addition, alongside my college applications, I will be renewing my resume. I created a resume over the summer to ease my way through my college application process, but this resume is in great need of revision and consicement. By the end of this week, I will be completed with this resume to begin the interview process and submit to colleges and letters of recommendation. All in all, this week has a lot of goals planned but for all of it to actually happen, I truly have to work the hardest I have ever worked. Until now, I did not understand the urgency of my actions, but now that I know that the future is closer than it looks, it is up to me to take ahold of it.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page