top of page

Time to Interview

Over past week, I went on my first interview of the year! I met Dr. Mikko Peter Tauriainen at HeartPlace Richardson. I learned that HeartPlace is a huge company of cardiologists and heart surgeons in the area. There are around 30 locations in Texas that associate with HeartPLace. I found this very fascinating because my mentor from last year, Dr. Leena Sharan, is a part of the company but at the Plano West location.

When I met Dr. Tauriainen, I knew that he had so much experience in his field and truly loves his career. In addition, it was really beneficial to know that he was familiar with the ISM program and has had a mentee before that shadowed in the hospitals. Something that I found interesting regarding the college process was that he pointed out the importance of going to a school that not only provides a great environment but also an academic rigor that I can excel in. Applying to the top notch schools is good, but adapting to an environment with crazy academic standards will not provide the best representation of myself when I apply to medical school. Therefore, I will keep this in mind when I figure out what college I am going to go to.

In addition, I was able to get the some contacts for more interviews. These doctors have a great probability to let me watch surgery in the OR’s, which is something I am extremely excited about. All in all, I am going to keep getting in touch with professionals for interviews to find a mentor. In addition, I am going to complete more research and start preparing for my research speech.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page