top of page

Time to Keep Going

Over this past week, I was able to apply to two colleges and complete everything for the November 1st deadline. I could not be more ecstatic with my progress considering that colleges, such as Baylor, UT Austin, and Case Western Reserve University, are places that are near the top of my list. In addition, regarding my interview process, I am trying very hard to contact people that would actually allow me to watch surgery. I have emailed two surgeons and am waiting for a reply. Therefore, tomorrow in class my plan is to email and call again to make sure they understand my persistance. I believe that there is no point in going on interviews that is not very beneficial to me. For this reason, I want to be more selective in who I interview to actually get something out of the experience.

In addition, I have been thinking about my research speech which is next Wednesday. My plan is to introduce some topics, such as career outlook, surgeries, a day in the life, differences between cardiology and cardiothoracic surgery, and my journey to finding interviews. This way I can elaborate my process of researching, interviewing, and contacting. Therefore, using this guideline I will be doing more work in finding interviews with people who will allow high school observers in the OR. This will be my goal to land an interview with atleast one person of that preference. All in all, for the next week I will also be working on my research speech, brainstorming on my original work, and finding people to interview.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page