top of page

Time for Research Showcase Part 2

Over the course of this week, I was able to present my topic of cardiothoracic surgery at the ISM Research Showcase for the second time and finish my original work. These are huge milestones that I have reached in my ISM 2 journey. The showcase was a great way to show me that I know a lot more than I give myself credit for. Many people came up to my table asking really thoughtful questions, and I could answer them all without hesitating. Through this experience, I found a new confidence in myself and excitement for what I will be doing in my mentor visits that are coming up. In addition, I found it surprising to see that a lot of people that I did not know came up to me to ask questions because of the topic I am studying this year. Overall, it was great to see everyone at the event, and I cannot wait until Final Presentation Night.

In addition, I was able to completely finish my original work. My original work has been completely changed, redone, and finished all in a span of a short time. I am proud that I have meticulously put in the time to complete this to the best of my abilities. I hope to convey the message through my infographic that awareness is key to any change, so taking a short genetic test will provide an outlet of opportunity, leading to lifestyle steps. I loved to research this topic of lifestyle and genetics because it is the center of all medical issues that occur. All in all, through this experience of learning about the first steps to cardiac conditions, I was able to find my true interest of science and research. For my final product, I hope to come up with a topic that can deal with medical research to elaborate upon. For the next week, I will be completing my original work assessment, thinking about my final product, and going on my first mentor visit.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page