top of page

Time to Debrief

Over the course of this week, I was able to debrief from Research Showcase and complete my original work. The showcase went really well for me because I was able to talk to so many people about my journey this year. I have realized that this event marked the halfway point of my ISM experience. Reflecting on my progress this past year, I found that I have achieved most of my SMART goals, such as finding a mentor, getting offers from universities, and finishing my original work. I completed an original work assessment, which encompassed my step by step process of creating my infographic after ample amounts of research content. In addition, I had a mentor visit at the Baylor Heart Hospital with Dr. Hutcheson. Eventhough I did not get to do much, I was able to complete the basic mentor requirements, like going over the handbook and getting a picture with her. Eventually, I hope to do more in the clinics and get to watching surgeries in the Operating Room (OR).

From my experience in the first half of the year, I realized that I truly loved to learn about medical research. Therefore, I created a research assessment this week and decided that I would do something similar for my final product. Because this the last time I will be able to create an ISM final product, I intend to make it very memorable to me. My plan of action right now is mainly going on another mentor visit with Dr. Hutcheson to get my final product straightened out and perhaps get to watch surgery in the future.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page