top of page

Time to Watch Surgery

Over the course of the week, I was able to complete the most important goal I set for myself this year: I watched surgeries! In the beginning of the school year for my SMART goals the first thing I put down regarding my ISM journey is to find a mentor and watch surgery. I am so grateful to my mentor, Dr. Hutcheson, who allowed me to have this opportunity to observe her surgical technique for not just one, but two CABG (Coronary Artery Bypass Graft) surgeries. From when I got to the hospital and to when I left, I could not feel time passing by, eventhough I spent around twelve hours there. The first thing I did when I got there was change into scrubs and then get to meet the patient to receive consent. Then, in the Operating Room, I got to meet all of the staff and see everything in action. Right when I entered on the left there were perfusionists in charge of the bypass machine when the heart is stopped. On the right there were the nurses prepping the patient and listening to the doctor’s requests for various medical equipment. Finally, right in front of me was the patient with Dr. Hutcheson and her assistant operating and harvesting the nerves. Behind them is the anesthesiologist working behind the scenes to ensure the patient's safety while they are asleep. The energy in the room was like no other because not only is it a place to think and save a life, but also to educate and learn about the surgery and the doctors themselves.

I have watched surgery before, which was a Cesarean Section in India; however, this experience was completely different because of the interactions with the physicians and nurses in the room and also the amount of medical knowledge that I have gathered in just one day. All in all, with this experience I plan to work harder and harder in my academics to achieve my newly affirmed goal of being a medical professional.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page