top of page

Time to Change It Up

Over the course of the week, I was able to present the ISM work I️ have done so far in the year and make changes to my final product. I have been thinking about my final product idea for a while now, and I truly want it to make the most impact it can. My idea is to basically bring awareness to the topic of echocardiograms because of the statistics of people affected by serious heart condition without even knowing the signs. I was debating whether I should make my product more of a social awareness for insurances to listen to the concerns of many or to appeal to the parents. After an ample amount of deliberation, I found that having the target audience as parents would make the most sense to get echocardiograms earlier in life rather than waiting till the last minute. Therefore, I believe that the best way to make this final product is to create a publication of somesort to spread the awareness of getting an echocardiogram as soon as possible to ensure the safety of everyone. This way I could even integrate interviews with insurance companies to find a way to make the financial standpoint work out to get these echocardiograms and also talk with electrophysiologists as well.

In addition, I gave my Original Work Speech this week as well which summed up my journey thus far from my research to original work and mentorship. I prepared a lot actually and practiced a lot; however, I realized that this presentation was not the best I could make it because of the distractions in the room. The timer that I had for myself kept turning off which threw me off on where I was that I forgot about my notecards. I had a lot of stellar ideas in the speech but it felt hard to project these ideas the way I wanted to. Anyway, I am going to make sure that my next speech is a lot better to ensure my success at Final Presentation Night in May. All in all, for this short week, I plan to edit my proposal a little more and go on a mentor visit as well.

Best Regards,

Anuja Jayachandran

bottom of page